If You Give a Mouse a Cookie…Sugar Cookie Recipe

This "blob" of dough filled the entire bowl pictured in the background.

If you’ve never read this story (or any of the other number of versions… it goes something like this… giving the mouse a cookie leads to something else, then something else, and so on until the story goes full circle back to giving the mouse the cookie)  Today…- my day went like this ~ If you read tsp as tbl you need to add more ingredients to fix the problem, but if you were doubling the recipe (because you have a cookie order) when you did that then you have to add A LOT more ingredients… like 8 sticks of butter, if you have to add that much more butter that you don’t have, then you have to go to the store, since the store charges twice as much as Costco (and that’s a lot of butter to pay twice as much for), then you have to go to Costco, if you go to Costco you’ll get a call from the school as you arrive in the parking lot, if you get a call from the school it’s because your child is ill and needs you to come pick them up ASAP, (so you get the butter anyway because #1 you are there and you NEED it and you don’t want to bring a sick child to Costco and #2 ASAP means As Soon As POSSIBLE – right?)… if you pick your sick child up late (because you shopped for butter) they are feeling better, but since you came to the school & made eye-to-eye contact, you have to take them home anyway, if you do all of that then you are 5 hours behind schedule for making the cookie order….and it’s already time to go back to the school to pick the rest of the kiddos up. Not quite full circle, but almost.
What can I say, I’m on a roll today ~ when Life Gives you Lemons, make Lemonade.  I’m not making lemonade, but to get the ratio for the dough, back to what it should be, I “sextupled” the recipe. Ha, ha – I can hear bd laughing at that (bd = baking-daddy… kind-of like a sugar daddy, but buys me baking supplies & assists when nag I ask nicely, sometimes repeatedly & sometimes not so nicely); maybe he just likes eating the cookies?
So – I’m TOTALLY behind on the order (but stuck because I have to pick 2 of 3 remaining kiddos up from school, #2 has cheerleading until 4pm and #4 came home early.) – This is the LEMON part.
The Lemonade part… I’m ahead for my other baking… as I have the dough chilling & ready to bake.

Sugar Cookie Recipe

2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

1 cup powdered (confectioners’) sugar

1 large egg

1 Tsp. vanilla

2 Tsp. almond extract

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. salt

Directions: Cream together butter & sugar until smooth. Beat in egg and extracts. Mix in the flour & salt on low until blended.

Form dough into ball & chill. – Use your judgement for how long, the time really depends on the cookie cutters & technique that you are using.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line baking sheets with parchment. Roll dough out on well floured surface to 1/4 in. thickness. Cut cookies & transfer to baking sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes ~ fully cooked but not brown. Cool on sheets for 5 min. then transfer to rack to cool completely. Decorate.

This is where I’ll add my “tid-bits” – tips, tricks, failures (hopefully this is rare)… but all part of the adventure that is baking.

I LOVE… seriously I LOVE my silpat baking sheets – I purchase 2 10+ years ago. I leave them on my pans and rinse/wipe them off after I’m done baking for the day. I rarely use parchment… it’s thin, takes an extra step to tear, is not environmental, costs money each time & takes up storage space… BUT this is a personal preference.

Most recipes say to chill the dough for 1-2 hours… I chill it 10-30 minutes. The freezer is also my friend and I use that frequently to chill dough.

P.S. I think you can use Salted Butter, just reduce the salt that you add – I’d go by “taste” on this one.

Have Fun & be sure to post pictures of your cookies!!

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
This entry was posted in cookies, sugar cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Baking Party

