Peanut Brittle

I enjoy peanut brittle…well, I used to enjoy peanut brittle – now I CRAVE peanut brittle! Why? Have you ever enjoyed a particular food item, but then one day you had that same food, but it was prepared a little differently; prepared in a way that made your taste buds go crazy. That’s what happened to me, and I did it to myself. How? By using a different recipe…. Every year at Christmas time I am compelled to make candy. It is something that I look forward to all year and this year I asked myself why I don’t make it year round. I don’t know – but what I do know is that every year at Christmas time, my Grandma Edith would make many different kinds & I remember her gifting the candies to many people including the post man.

Thankfully she wrote down her candy recipes in a notebook and I am very lucky to have her candy-making recipe book full of many recipes all hand-written which is where I discovered this gem of a recipe.  There are 2 peanut brittle recipes, and for some reason I never noticed this one.  — It’s a bit “darker” and perhaps a little “richer” tasting than typical peanut brittle – but it turned out FABULOUS.  I have never tasted a better peanut brittle and the texture is THE ABSOLUTE BEST that I have ever tasted!!

Previously, I made peanut brittle with “white” sugar and un-salted peanuts. The recipe called for light brown sugar and all I had was dark (and didn’t really catch that nuance until after the fact).  It was so YUMMY that it disappeared quickly, well… what was left after delivering packages to my neighbors. So, I made it again, using the light brown sugar – the dark was my favorite. It made for a more richer tasting brittle – that allowed for one piece to satisfy – If you are a dark chocolate lover, you can probable relate; very similar to eating a piece of milk-chocolate vs dark-chocolate… deeper flavor.

No need to take my word for it…give it a try and here’s how:

Making candy can be tricky – because it is precise & you have to move quickly.  My grandmother believed that candy should only be made on a clear day & every time I’ve made candy on non-clear day – the results were ehhh. She was a Fabulous candy maker – I didn’t eat much of her candy tho’ because she used nuts in everything.

Grandma Edith’ s Golden Peanut Brittle

2 cups salted roasted peanuts (12 oz. can)

1/2 cup water

1 lb. C and H Golden Brown Sugar – I modified using DARK brown sugar

1 cup light corn syrup

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp baking soda

Spread peanuts in a shallow pan and place in a 200 degree oven.  Combine water, sugar, syrup and butter in a 3qt. heavy saucepan. Place overhigh heat, stir constantly until boiling. Place thermometer in mixture and continue cooking to 285 degrees. Stir often to prevent burning. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla and hot peanuts. Add soda and stir until foamy. Quickly pour into two greased cookie sheets. Spread as thin as possible. Cool. Break into pieces. Makes 2 1/2 lbs.

Technically the peanuts are warm, not hot – I like this idea because it doesn’t “shock” the very hot sugar mixture.  I also like this recipe because it uses salted/roasted peanuts – which I find much tastier than “raw” peanuts & Costco currently sells a 2pk tub of roasted/salted peanuts.  Lastly,  I used “dark” brown sugar rather than golden;  the peanut brittle turned out a rich brownish looking color. ~ Enjoy

…Bummer – had a photo that showed the peanut brittle on the cookie sheets and for some reason it never got downloaded onto my computer off of the memory card and I recently deleted the memory card (guess that’s why it was still on the memory card – ugh, lesson learned.)

Join the Baking Party

