Jamba Juice Orange Dream Machine, Orange Julius, & orange creamsicle popsicles?.

I remember my dad telling me about this place he used to get yummy orange drinks, …that place was Orange Julius. I think orange was my dad’s favorite flavor – which was weird to me, because I didn’t even like orange flavored – anything!! Not even sugar covered, orange jelly candies could persuade me. We lived in a small town – with no Orange Julius, no Toys R Us, no See’s Candy and no FARRELL’s Ice Cream Parlor.  That doesn’t have anything to do with this post, I just REALLY missed those places. I’m not sure when I tasted my first “authentic” Orange Julius, but I do remember the first time I tasted one of the yummiest drinks ever – a drink which made me add “orange” to one of my favorite flavors; a drink which is better than the name brand (in my opinion). I was visiting my friend Shelly & her family served me a yummy drink made in their very own blender… I was hooked. I was SO hooked, even 25 years later, my friend still remembered how much I liked that drink. Anyway, today, my daughter was not been feeling well, had a slight fever & not much of an appetite. She asked me to make her a “smoothie”. I was out of frozen strawberries and so I couldn’t make the one thing that actually sounded appetizing to her. I must digress a moment here… my “smoothies” are for the most part healthy – fruit, ice, protein powder, yogurt, sometimes spinach etc… I felt bad about not being able to make the smoothie & then I saw a can of frozen orange,pineapple,banana concentrate in my freezer & the idea struck me. I get really excited when I have “a-ha, mom-saves-the-day” moments that my children actually appreciate. I mixed up the concentrate with some milk, vanilla, ice & sugar. While it wasn’t the healthy smoothie I typically blend for my kids, it was a special surprise & a treat for my ailing child; at least it had milk & vitamin C & some water for hydration. Plus it made enough to serve 2 more kiddos. I made a second batch so I could snap a picture (guess we don’t really snap pictures anymore since they are digital) take a photo.
This recipe is SO easy to modify, and I have made it with varying amounts of each ingredient – I noted the modifications that I made today and the brands/types of ingredients I used.

  • 6 oz  Orange Juice… I used 1/2 can of Pine/Orange/Banana concentrate by Dole
  • 1 cup of Milk (I used 1 %, use what you have)
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 15 ice cubes
  • Add sugar (or honey/sweetner of you choice) to taste…
About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
Gallery | This entry was posted in drinks, smoothie,milkshakes,icees and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Baking Party

