Feeling Peachy….Easy as Pie….Rustic Galette

Organic Peaches from my backyard

I started another new blog Mommy 2 Four; kinda goes with Baking 4 Six don’t you think?… and I’m definitely a Mommy 24 hours a day (even when I’d kinda rather be sleeping, I do LOVE my kiddos more than sleep) I’m going to include links in the Baking 4 Six posts like this which will magically transport you to Mommy 2 Four. Hmmmm…. perhaps this idea will work out just “peachy”.

MMMM…. peach pie.  Reminds me of a galette that I baked this past summer. (I am continually led to French pastry recipes – another future blog) Funny tho’ because I had absolutely no idea what a galette was until a friend FB that they were planning to make one. So, of course I googled galette – and found out that it’s a free-form tart/pie/something resembling a rustic pastry with a flaky crust & fruit; you say toe-mae-toe, I say toe-ma-toe. I had FRESH peaches from the tree in my backyard sitting on my kitchen counter. These peaches were actually waayyyy to juicy and delicious to be made into a pie, but I did it anyway. I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE pie dough/crust. If you read my “about me” page you’ll know why pie dough is very close to my heart. Anyway, I made a galette (with extra crust) and it was SO good. I have to admit, I felt kinda bad because I made/posted my galette before my friend could make hers; but not too bad, because she put the idea in my head & I did give her credit on FB.

okay… you can buy pie crust in a box, in the fridge section or the freezer section of the grocery store — I love OPTIONS, but when I make pie-crust, I ALWAYS make mine from scratch and I ALWAYS use the Crisco shortening (butter or regular, does not matter) recipe.  For a simple do-it-yourself-from-scratch pie crust tutorial or for the recipe click here

Easy as 1

For the gallete – I peeled the peaches, added cinnamon, add sugar if you want or need too – the peaches are juicy & sweet enough as is – and any other spice, for example all spice… fold up the side of the dough. They don’t need to go up as far as mine unless you are a crust lover; I  got carried away.

2

Bake @ 400 for 35min. – You want it to be browned & crusty looking (somewhere in between pale white & burnt) You can sprinkle sugar on top before it’s baked, makes it look a little fancier – but I think it’s delicious either way.

Rustic (keyword here is RUSTIC) Galette

 

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
This entry was posted in pie & pastries & tarts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Baking Party

