Which Butter is Best?? I know & if you read this, you will, too!

I learned something today about “butter”… not sure why I’ve never seen this before – I doubt it’s a secret, but since I’d never heard of this, perhaps you haven’t either so I’m going to share what I found out… why, because just like everything in life – what you put into baking is what you get out, ie, quality ingredients = quality baked treats!!

So… this is what I discovered ~”Butter in the States is graded according to flavor, color, texture, aroma and body and one easy way to tell the quality of the butter is by the letter code or numerical number listed on the butter’s package. The highest grade is AA (93 score), then A (92 score), followed by B (90 score).” I’ve seen the labeling quality grade AA etc… but I didn’t realize that it actually meant something besides sounding good 😉

However, now I’m curious why 93 is the highest grade – shouldn’t it be 100? I wonder if my husband will let me buy a cow, then I can make my own butter… probably not.

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
This entry was posted in Ingredients and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Which Butter is Best?? I know & if you read this, you will, too!

  1. shelly says:

    Who knew? I’ve seen the grades too, but never thought why. It’s good to know.
    By the way, we get fresh raw milk up here and can make our own butter. 🙂

Join the Baking Party

