The Best “accidental” Chocolate Cupcakes Ever

What were to be Malt Shop aka. “chocolate/malt” cupcakes turned out better as chocolate cupcakes… the batter was oh, so yummy – but even yummy tasting batter doesn’t always mean yummy tasting cake. However, after filling the cupcake liners, I just KNEW these cakes were gonna be GOOD — I have never seen cupcake batter with such a smooth, glossy, rich looking surface; it looked like “ganache” to me. Anyway,  I just KNEW that there was something special about these cuppies and oh-boy, oh-boy — I was not disappointed. Well, I was disappointed because the chocolate flavor took over the malt flavor.  I’m not a big “cake” fan, although I do like Brownies (done right)… but I realized that the reason I don’t like cake, is that the flavor (most of the time) is ehh – and the true flavor (at least in my opinion) comes from the filling and/or frosting – and even if that’s not flavorful at least it’s sugary and I LOVE sugar; so I usually just eat the frosting and throw the cake away. Most of the time, I pass on offers of cake, unless I know for a fact it’s a good one – where the flavors & textures of the cake, filling & frosting ALL compliment each other.

So – while this didn’t make the chocolate MALT cuppie that I was striving for – I’m keeping this recipe as my new FAVORITE chocolate cupcake recipe. (Chocolate Malt cupcakes coming one day…)

Chocolate Cupcakes – yield 2 dozen (or 4 dozen minis) – Printer Friendly version

Prep: 20 minutes Cook: about 20 minutes (12-15 minutes for minis)

Pre-heat oven to 350

Ingredients
6 tbsp. butter
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup water
1½ cups each: flour and sugar
1/2 cup  unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp. instant espresso powder*
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
2 eggs
1/3 cup sour cream (I used low-fat)*
1½ tsp. vanilla
*these are the ingredients that I added

1.  Line 24 muffin cups with paper liners/ or 48 minis or a combo.

2. Heat butter, oil and water in a small saucepan over medium heat just until butter is melted; set aside to cool slightly.
3. Stir together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, malted milk powder, baking soda and salt in a large bowl of an electric mixer. Add butter mixture and beat until combined. Beat in eggs, one at a time, then stir in vanilla.

4. Fill liners and Bake at 350 for 20 minutes (12-15 for minis)

Source: adapted from the April/May/June 2011 Something Extra published by Raleys





Join the Baking Party

