Kettle Corn

I will NEVER, well I shouldn’t say never, but I don’t plan on buying Kettle Corn again in the near future; especially at $6-8 a bag at street fairs or even a few $$s at Trader Joes. For years, I have been popping corn on the stove. A few months ago, I purchased a huge (5 lb.??) bag of Oroville pop corn kernels at the Grocery Outlet for a few bucks. I heat some oil on medium high heat, add some kernels and pop away; be sure to put a lid on first.  So when I read the recipe for Kettle Corn (basically adding sugar to the pan) – I didn’t hesitate to make it. I’m on my second batch in less than 24 hours.

If Kettle corn is not your thing, or if making popcorn in the microwave is, then check out this post by The Frugal Girls: Homemade Microwave Popcorn which is where I found the following recipe for Kettle Corn.

Kettle Corn

Ingredients: 1/2 cup corn kernels, 1/3 cup sugar and salt.

Directions:

Put 3 kernels in a pot on the stove. Just cover the kernels with oil (or whatever oil you have, I use olive). Once they have popped the oil is hot enough. Pour 1/3 cup sugar in and 1/2 cup kernels in. Slide pot back and forth until the popping has slowed down. Dump into a bowl and sprinkle with salt (or not, if you just want sweet). Mix to coat evenly and then just wait a couple of minutes for it to cool and harden. Be Careful: the cooling is important because the hot sugar WILL burn your fingers, luckily it cools/hardens fairly quickly.

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
This entry was posted in snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kettle Corn

  1. Pingback: RED, WHITE AND BLUE KETTLE CORN

Join the Baking Party

