“Eleanor’s Secret” (recipe)

NOTE: When setting aside edible items to be photographed - be sure to inform all family members of your plan.

My recipe card is dated Dec. 1990… Have I really been making these for over 20 years? Actually, I’ve been making this recipe slightly longer than that. When I was in college, my mom would mail me recipe cards from my favorite recipes and she always included the date on the top of the card. (**note: After today, I realize putting dates on recipe cards, just makes the user feel “old”-) It’s no surprise I saved them all these years; it is a surprise that I knew where the recipe card was. (just kidding, kinda…) As much as I enjoy eating these little tibbits of lemony, creamy, flaky deliciousness… this was not a recipe that I made frequently since it requires cream cheese and sour cream ~ 2 items which I typically only consume in baked goods and therefore, did not keep on hand. However, nowadays, since I have 4 children with varied tastes, I do keep a variety of foods stocked in my fridge.
This recipe was given to my mom from her friend Eleanor. Supposedly it is a secret recipe, but at least twice in the past 20 years, I’ve seen the same pastry (although a larger, “cupcake” sized version) from a few pastry shops. ~and, after this post, it’s not a secret anymore.

The fact that a crusty pastry shell is part of this recipe is pretty much a given that it would be high on my list of recipe favorites, however, I also enjoy this recipe for it’s slight texture variations between the light & fluffy Slightly Lemony Cream Cheese Filling and the flaky, somewhat creamy shell. The final pastry is balanced by the light & air texture of both components ~ I dare you to eat, just one!!

DISCLAIMER: I prefer my crust browned – however, when serving others I typically pull my baked treats out of the oven just as the the color begins to turn oh-so-ever-slightly-golden (how ’bout that for the name of a paint sample?) Anyway, these are a bit “well-done” for photographing purposes, however…. if you read the caption, then you’ll know that the “perfect” cookies were devoured by my daughters – I suppose “They looked good enough to eat”.

Pastry:

2 cups flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup butter

1/2 cup sourcream

1 Egg Yolk

Filling:

8 oz cream cheese (low-fat works, regular tastes best)

1/2 c sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp finely grated lemon peel (No need to limit yourself to lemon – raspberry, chocolate, almond, orange, lime etc… or a combination of flavors – HAVE FUN)

1 egg

Roll 1/8″ thick into approx. 3″ circles

Take circle into hand, add a tsp of filling (approx), then place into a mini-cupcake sized baking tray, forming into a 4-petal flower shape (see photo ^^^)

Bake at 375 about 20 minutes (start checking at 15 minutes, especially if your pan is dark)

Let cool – (They taste best when cooled) and Sprinkle with Powdered Sugar

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
Gallery | This entry was posted in cookies, dessert, pie & pastries & tarts, sweet treats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Eleanor’s Secret” (recipe)

  1. Mike says:

    Sounds and looks delicious. Keep up the great blog!

Join the Baking Party

