Snickerdoodles (fun to say ~ yummy to eat)

My grandma used to make snickerdoodle cookies, so making them reminds me of her.  Making them also reminds me of when my husband and I were dating once upon a time…..of a young 20-something delivering an irridescent light blue Hallmark gift bag full of snickerdoodle cookies to her prince charming at work. Interesting how food, like music, conjures up memories – “snapshots of time”. I’m not sure why I chose to make snickerdoodles that day, since I don’t really like them (even tho’ they are covered with sugar) & they are a bit more time consuming than “drop” cookies, because the dough must first be rolled into a ball, then rolled into cinnamon sugar before they are baked. Maybe I just liked the name – snickerdoodle, afterall, it is fun to say. Maybe it was fate? Snickerdoodles are one of my husband’s favorite cookies!!

While I have many of my Grandma Edith’s recipes, I don’t have her snickerdoodle recipe.  The recipe that I’ve been using for over half my life-time comes from The Joy of Creative Cuisine. I purchased this cookbook the summer after I graduated from high school. I received a scholarship, which also came with guaranteed summer employment at my mom’s workplace, Citizen’s Utilities. A random salesperson, came around selling “discounted” books. I didn’t have much money, so I find it interesting (although not surprising) that I would spend my money on a cookbook. I’m glad I did. I still really like this cookbook; it has a lot of pictures although they definitely look ~ retro 80s style, but in a good way. Gotta love the 80s – just sayin’.

Snickerdoodles (Printer Version)
yield 3 dozen cookies/Bake time 30min for 3 doz/Total time 60min/Easy
**Pre-heat oven to 375 (190C)
INGREDIENTS:
½ cup butter
¾ cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. vanilla
1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon mixed w/ 2 tbl. sugar
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat Oven to 375
2. Beat butter and sugar 5 minutes until light & fluffy (less for a stand mixer), then beat in egg & vanilla until blended.
3. Sift flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt over the sugar mixture. Combine to make a stiff dough.
4. Shape dough into walnut-sized balls (you can use a small cookie scoop 1 to 1-1/4 inch balls) roll into the cinnamon sugar mixture to coat. Place 2 inches apart on the ungreased baking sheet. (I use a silpat mat)
5. Bake in preheated oven 10 minutes (or until lightly browned). Cool for 1-2 minutes, remove from baking sheets; cool on wire racks.
Source: Slightly modified from The Joy of Creative Cuisine, 1986 (Octopus Books Limited)
4 comments

    • The recipe is “fixed”… part of line 2 in the directions simply disappeared. The egg and vanilla are added after “creaming” the butter & sugar. Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention 🙂

  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe – glad to see someone else noticed the missing egg/vanilla info… I made these last weekend and my cousin’s son said “these are the best cookies I have ever had!” SUCCESS!

Join the Baking Party

