My FAVORITE vanilla cake aka “HEAVENLY White Cake”

I learned a lesson today that I hope finally sinks in~ I keep finding, making, and trying “new” recipes on-line, looking to improve recipes that I already LOVE. I have been disappointed time & time again. Not that the recipes aren’t good, they just aren’t GREAT like the ones that I have been using for many years. Not that I don’t believe in trying new recipes. However, sometimes the simple things in life are BEST and I believe that this vanilla cake recipe is one of those. Not only does it taste terrific as is, it can be tinted any color and/or flavored to fit any theme or craving. It’s light & airy – yet has enough body to support a variety of frostings & fillings. It lends itself to both cakes and cupcakes.  It requires few ingredients and it’s easy.  AND have I mentioned?; it tastes GREAT!! I have made many, many cakes over the years for my children’s birthday parties using this recipe and the cakes always receive rave reviews. It’s one of those cakes where people go back for 2nds & 3rds. BTW, I believe that I mentioned that I don’t like cake (I like frosting)… that’s not really true. I like really good cake (and Hostess Cupcakes??) – I don’t mean good like Costco cake either… I mean really good like this recipe. So good that I remember the first time I made this recipe.

…when I created these Raggedy Ann & Andy cakes for my 14 year old daughter’s 1st birthday. Not too bad for my first time & not too bad considering the photo that I used for inspiration.

Heavenly White Cake

Ingredients:

2 1/3 cups flour (I use cake flour)

2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp salt

4 egg whites (I suggest using the left-over egg yolks to make ice cream, which just so happens to pair very well with… cake. I love it when things work out like that! – Don’t you?)

1 1/2 cups sugar, divided (1 cup & 1/2 cup)

3/4 cup unsalted butter

1 cup milk (whole is probably best, I typically use 1%)

1 1/2 tsp vanilla (or any flavor that you prefer)

Heat: 325 degrees ~ Grease & Flour 2 – 8″ or 9″ baking pans.

Directions:

Sift the flour, baking powder and the salt together ~ Set Aside.

Beat egg whites until foamy, then gradually add the 1/2 cup of sugar. Continue to beat until soft peaks form ~ Set Aside.

Beat butter and remaining 1 cup of sugar until light & fluffy. Then, alternating between the two, beat in the flour mixture & the milk until fully incorporated & smooth. Add the vanilla (flavoring).  Fold in the egg whites.

Pour into the grease/floured pans and bake for 30-35 min. for 9″ or 35-40 min. for 8″ (use the toothpick to test for doneness, insert in the middle of the cake, when it comes out clean the cake is done) Cool for 10 minutes, remove from pans and cool completely on wire racks before frosting.

Source: Slightly adapted from Baker’s Easy Cut-Up Party Cakes circa 1993 Kraft General Foods, Inc.

Join the Baking Party

