Baked Kale…(I bet you can’t eat just one?)

Baked Kale - FYI: the kale filled the entire tray before cooking, it shrinks while it bakes.

I’m sharing this because my 7 year old’s reaction (the child that pretty much lives for eating candy & soda – not sure where he gets his love of sugar from *cough)… anyway, after his first taste, he literally exclaimed, “How did you get this to taste like Lay’s?” (as in potato chips ~ which by the way, he eats at Grandma’s house).

I’m also including this post just to prove that we live on more than sugar around here and because I’ve been on a little adventure lately “Baking” vegetables.

I don’t have a picture of these on a pretty plate – mostly because when I took them out of the oven, they cool very quickly & are quite yummy off of the tray, fresh from the oven. Think popcorn – but my children would probably think I was weird if I served them Baked Kale in their popcorn cups like the ones featured in my kettle corn recipe; actually my children do think I’m weird…but I’m okay with that because that means I’m doing my job – right? 😉

Baked Kale

1 bunch of Kale, Olive Oil (1 Tbl), and Salt (1 Tsp) – or seasoning(s) of your choice

Rinse the Kale and strip off the leaves by running your hand down along the stems. Place onto a parchment covered baking sheet. (I used silpat, which I typically use for everything that I bake, but it made an oily/Kale crumb mess… so for this I will definitely use parchment from now on.)

Drizzle the Kale leaves with olive oil – if you have a kitchen mister then I suggest misting with the oil for fuller, more even coverage. Then sprinkle on salt to taste if you want; or any seasoning that you like.
Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes… this is the tricky part, I would start checking at 10 minutes. You want the edges a bit browned but not burnt.

update: I used salt, but the kale chips would be absolutely yummy with any seasoning that you like – chili/lime, ranch, taco….

5 comments

Join the Baking Party

