Iced Cafe Mocha (…and iced coffee)

When I took this photo it already felt like 100 degrees on my front porch. The chocolate chips were melting, the lemon zest was sinking & the ice cubes were dissolving and I was sweating (sorry)… slightly torturous since I was painstakingly trying to photograph what I really wanted & desperately needed to drink. The things I do for you ūüôā

I persevered. I’m tough. I’m a mom. Times 4.

(…and my kids ended up drinking these. I sacrifice. To keep the peace. But. Then I was parched and weak and. still. sweating. Luckily, I had more in the fridge!)

I already posted the lemonade concentrate recipe which brought back memories of working at Ettore’s and an iced mocha drink that Ettore’s wife Lisa created. I wasn’t interested in drinking iced mochas when I was 19 years old nor do I recall the recipe. Nowadays… 4 kids, early mornings & late nights (for other reasons), less energy, and many years later there are times that I look forward to¬†a cup of coffee in the morning or afternoon; and with the beginning of summer the timing seems perfect for an iced mocha recipe.¬†So, I did a little playing around in my kitchen in the name of “experimenting & research” (avoiding housework & responsibility) and came up with a relatively quick & easy and YUMMY – Iced Mocha recipe.

Now, if you’ll just excuse me for one moment, while I indulge…

…thank you – and now, it’s your turn! Here’s how:

I have an 8-cup coffee maker which equates to slightly less than 4 1/2 cups brewed coffee?? Actually I never knew that until I poured the coffee into my favorite Pampered Chef “Batter” Bowl. Based on my coffee maker, I used 1 generous scoop of beans per 2 cups of coffee for a total of 4 scoops. Basically, I doubled the strength that I typically use for brewing a cup of coffee. The beans were a “dark” roast which paired perfectly with the dutch process unsweetened cocoa powder. So, you may have to adjust the recipe according to the size of your coffee maker & your personal taste.

ICED CAFE MOCHA (approximately 4 servings)

Ingredients ~

1/2 cup coffee beans (dark roast, sources: bulk or Costco)

1/2 cup “unsweetened” cocoa powder (preferably dutch process)

1/2 cup evaporated milk (more or less to taste)

Ice Cubes

Cream or Half and Half to taste (approx. 2 TBL per 1 cup)

Update: I was thinking about one of my favorite creamers “vanilla” and added 1 tsp. vanilla extract to the recipe. Totally optional. Next time, I may try “raspberry” or “peppermint”.

Directions ~ Grind the beans, and brew.¬†After brewing the coffee, pour the coffee back into the maker & brew it a second time, using the same grounds. (Maybe this isn’t necessary, but I did it anyway.) Pour a little (approx. 1/2 cup) of the brewed HOT coffee into a mixing bowl. ¬†Add 1/4 the cocoa powder and whisk the cocoa into the coffee until it is fully incorporated. ¬†Then, whisk the condensed milk. (Unless you prefer your coffee black & your chocolate bitter; I’m not that bold.) Finally, pour the rest of the coffee into this mixture and mix together until combined. optional: add 1 tsp. vanilla extract or flavor of your choice. Refrigerate until cold.

When you are ready to drink or serve. Add ice cubes to a cup, then pour the mixture over the top. Lastly add the cream or half-and-half, drink, and ENJOY!!

coffee with the cocoa -

The rest of the coffee w/the evaporated milk

To make an “Iced Coffee”: omit the¬†cocoa powder & lessen¬†the evaporated milk to-taste unless you are craving an extra sweet & creamy concoction & want to be BAD like me. Sometimes being BAD tastes really, really good ūüôā

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
Gallery | This entry was posted in breakfast, Drinks/Beverages, How To, DIY, Tutorial, Kitchen 101, The Recipe Box and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Baking Party

