Baked Chicken Strips – EASY as 1, 2, 3 (4)

According to my teen, we eat “too” much chicken. As she ages, her palette is maturing – and she enjoys more “adult” style foods; aka “not chicken strips/nuggets”.  Even though I thought I was being clever when I served this dressed up version,  I’m not quite sure if she even took a bite. However, everyone else enjoyed them and so I made them again. I used as many “homemade” ingredients as possible and enlisted the help of my 9 year old. AND, my teen commented that dinner was REALLY good.

store-bought "boxed" white panko crumbs

Step One: Roll the chicken strips in the flour/season salt mixture.

Although, it may seem like these take quite a few steps for “just a chicken” strip – they steps are quick & easy and the results are worth the effort. We also made and extra batch so we could keep some in the freezer. (I’m in the process of gathering all kinds of foods for a future “freezer meals” post.)

Step Two:  Roll the floured chicken in the egg wash/herb mixture. (Your fingers will get covered with egg & feel slimy… just work through it and try not to think about it.

Step Three:  Roll in the toasted panko crumbs until coated

Step Three:Roll the floured/egged chicken into the toasted panko crumbs.homemade whole wheat panko crumbs

(Step 4) Ready to bake.

Baked Chicken Strips –

  • chicken breasts
  • flour, seasoned salt
  • egg, seasonings
  • panko crumbs, olive oil

Pre-heat oven (baking stone if you want) to 475 degrees.

Approximately 4 chicken breasts cut into 3 strips each for a total of 12 strips. (Based on my family’s consumption, I would allow 3-4 strips per adult and 2-3 per child.)

#1. Mix together 1/2 cup flour (I used whole wheat) AND 2 tsp. seasoned salt on a plate; I used a pie plate to help contain the flour.  ( 1/8 cup flour &  1/2 tsp. per breast/3 strips)

#2. Whisk together 1 egg (or 3 egg whites) with 1 tbl water and 1 tsp. fresh or 1/4 tsp. dried seasoning(s) of your choice*: ideas oregano, thyme, mustard, basil.

#3.  2 cups panko crumbs** ( 1/2 cup per breast/3 strips) AND… Even tho’ this is technically step #3, you may want to make this first if you plan to do the next step: Optional, you can add 2 Tbl oil – I use olive oil. (1/2 Tbl per 1/2 cup panko per 1 breast/3 strips), mix with the panko in a frying pan over medium heat until browned to your liking. Cool. Another option is to add parmesan or asiago cheese -YUMMO!! -or not. (If you added basil in step #2, the parmesan would be very good…)

Assemble strips by rolling in flour (#1), dipping in egg wash (#2) & coating with the panko crumbs (#3) and bake for 8-10 minutes at 475.  I think that they would bake fabulously crispy on a baking stone and another option is to use a rack coated with cooking spray suspended over a baking sheet. However, for easy clean-up, line a cookie sheet with parchment & then place the rack on top. I should’ve done that or used my baking stone -instead I did it the “hard/messy” way like this…..

*I used home-made whole wheat panko crumbs found here. Bread crumbs will work, too.

**FYI: 1 Tbl fresh = 1 Tsp dried for the seasonings. — I’m a teacher, can’t help myself 🙂

I’ve seen several recipes similar to this all over the web and I pretty much just used all the knowledge and made my own.

4 comments

  1. That looks good! I love baked chicken, so much better than frying it! I did a post on my version of crispy chicken skewers. Please check it out and let me know what you think. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Hey! I love your site and your blog! Have to tell you, I made the chicken fingers with the panko you wrote about. You were right, kids loved them and with the panko, so good! Keep any and all simple dinner ideas coming. I come from a family of fantastic cooks but unfortunately, I missed that gene! I need all the help I can get! Take care!

Join the Baking Party

