Stacy’s Sandwich Bread

Hmmm… my pretty placemat is upside down??

This is what the bread looked like after rising; monster bread. I kinda like that name, too. Anyway, I did not take a picture of the baked bread… well, that’s not exactly true I took photos of it as I was grating the 2 day old left-overs into panko crumbs with my Kitchen Aid Mixer.

This recipe came from the blog Stacy Makes Cents, written by Stacy. Stacy is funny, witty, and nice.  She shares all kinds of “domestic” advice, has weekly give-aways and I named this bread after her 😉

Anyway, according to her post, she got this recipe from her friend Angela “aka” super-mom & I decided to try it because I wanted to be a super-mom, too. Actually my kids were hungry, they wanted a sandwich and so I made the bread. So, I guess that technically makes me a supper-mom. Perhaps, I shouldn’t write my blog entries late at night, because what sounds funny at 1 in the morning, just isn’t quite as hilarious the next day. I’d still like to be Super Mom, but I’m sure that takes a little more effort than making bread. However, the bread was yummy and so, I’m sharing it on my blog, too.  Stacy made 2 loaves, I made one (just to be sure I liked it). Also, if I’m going to the effort of making fresh bread – I like it FRESH, so I prefer to make one loaf at a time. However, making two loaves at a time, saves dishes, time & energy.

Btw, Stacy does not like square loaves of bread – me, I don’t mind – square, rectangle, round… as long as it tastes good. So, I think I might try this in my bread machine.

Stacy’s Sandwich Bread (adapted from Stacy Makes Cents)

2 1/4 tsp “instant” active yeast

1 tsp salt

scant 1/4 cup oil (if doubling, use 1/3 cup)

scant 1/4 cup honey (if doubling, use 1/3 cup… sugar is okay here, too)

1 egg

1 cup warm water

1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour AND 1 ½ cups bread flour (or 3 1/4 cups bread flour)

**I also used some of my sourdough starter that’s in the works, so if you do that – account for it as 1/2 water & 1/2 flour.

Pour the warm water into the mixer bowl, sprinkle the yeast on top and stir until dissolved. Then, add the salt, oil, honey, egg, and 1 1/2 cups of the flour. Mix on speed 1 (or 2) for 10 minutes, using the paddle attachment.

Change to the dough hook. Add the remaining flour and knead for 10 minutes on speed 1 (or 2). If it’s a little sticky, add a small amount of flour by hand, but no more than ¼ cup.

Put dough into an oiled bowl, turning so surface is oiled. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 45 minutes.

Poke dough down and turn onto a floured surface. Press to remove air bubbles. Shape into a loaf and put into a greased 9 inch pans. Turn dough to coat surface in oil. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 45 minutes. Beware of the monster bread caused by letting it rise too long. I know, I’m not super-mom; super-moms don’t let their bread rise too long.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes or until loaf sounds hollow when tapped. Let rest in pans for 10 minutes before turning out to cool completely on wire rack.  Ta-Da!!

One comment

Join the Baking Party

