“Quick” Crepes

I am not a pancake lover, actually… I’m more of a pancake hater dis-liker. Don’t judge me, after all, that means there are more pancakes for everyone else, right? (okay, I sorta, kinda like the whole-wheat pancakes that I recently started making) Anyway, my whole life I’ve never really liked pancakes except for the ones my grandma made especially-for-me. Even though they were made from pancake batter and were technically pancakes, they weren’t exactly typical. We called them “spoils. If you are familiar with the little drips of pancake batter that fall onto the griddle as you are pouring the pancakes, then you know what spoils are; the drips that end up looking like little crispy dots or extremely miniature pancakes that are no bigger than a dime & most much smaller than that. Mmmmmm Spoils!! – However the problem with spoils is… Do you know how many spoils it takes to equal 1 pancake? Way Too Many. Like more than 100, perhaps almost 1000, at least that’s what it seems like when I’m making them. So, yeah, you probably know what that means; spoils take for-eh-vah to make. What’s a pancake hater, ahem, dis-liker kind of girl like me to do? Make crepes, of course.

My mom made crepes once. I fell in love & she never made them again. (Well, maybe she made them once more??) And she did recently give me the recipe which I haven’t made yet {gasp} – sorry mom. I’m making it very soon, like maybe this Friday made this weekend.  I love crepes and I think that perhaps I should make them more often.

The crepes made from the recipe below are good, although I doubt they are the best ever. So, why am I bothering to post this? Because these crepes are just a little different than the many,many crepe recipes that I’ve researched. This is the first and only recipe I found that does not require the batter to be chilled (1-2 hours) before making the crepes. Also, it IS a GOOD recipe. I’m still searching for the ultimate crepe recipe (I’m starting with my moms, really I am, remember, I’m doing that on Friday)- however, for quick & easy crepes, I doubt that this one can be beat. Besides, maybe I’m just a little too picky – nah.

Make them as light… or as browned as you want.

Serve them hot, warm, or cold. Oh, and let’s not forget about one of the best things about crepes; all of the fabulous goodies that you can fill them with. For this batch I used homegrown/homemade peach, cherry and pomegranate jams & jellies. Absolutely delicious! Other options are cream, Nutella, fresh fruits etc…

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used whole milk)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Whisk the flour and the eggs together in a mixing bowl. Then, gradually add the milk & water, stirring until combined. Beat in the salt and butter until smooth.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled pan/griddle over medium high heat. Using approximately 1/4 cup for each crepe, pour the batter onto the griddle (I used a circular/spiral pattern for pouring). Tilt the pan and swirl in a circular motion so that the batter coats the surface evenly and to help make the crepes as thin as possible.
  3. Cook the crepe for about 2 minutes or until the bottom is light brown. Loosen with a spatula, flip and cook the other side. Serve hot, warm or cold.

Source: slightly adapted from  All Recipes.com – Basic Crepes Recipe

2 comments

Join the Baking Party

