Angel Food Cake w/mini Chocolate Chips

As much as I enjoy making cake from scratch, I’m not much of a cake eater. (I feel the same way about pan”cakes”.) When offered a slice of cake, I either politely decline or eat the frosting & filling leaving the “cake” part behind. However, I have always enjoyed Angel Food Cake although it’s a cake I rarely bake since it uses a dozen egg whites. The good news is, it’s July aka. National Ice Cream Month and I’ve been celebrating by making homemade ice cream using the custard base method, and I had a lot of egg whites in need of a home.

I like Angel Food Cake in it’s pure form which could be considered by some to be plain & boring. I think that’s one of the best things about an Angel Food Cake – it can be dressed up easily in so many different ways. I plan to keep making ice cream, so you’ll most likely see several versions of Angel Food Cake posted as well. Recently it seems, I’ve been in a chocolate chip everything mode making The Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe and Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream w/Chunks of Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough. So I just couldn’t resist adding mini-chocolate chips to this recipe and was very pleased with the results as was my family… as in the cake disappeared in less than 12 hours.

note: I’m glad my family enjoyed the cake, because I think the chocolate chips affected the baking time… right after I answered an urgent phone call, the timer went off for the cake. It looked done (but I didn’t check it because I was pre-occupied) and when I inverted it, the top fell off because the center wasn’t quite cooked. It was quite tricky photographing “pieces” of cake.

Chocolate Chip Angel Food Cake

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar

1 cup cake flour

1/4 cup mini chocolate chip morsels, plus more for garnish (optional)

1 1/2 cups egg whites (approximately 12) – Tip: Egg whites whip-up best at room temperature – separate the eggs ahead of time & leave at room temperature for an hour.

1 1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

1 cup granulated sugar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp almond (optional – substitute any flavor or more vanilla)

1/4 tsp salt

Directions: Heat Oven to 375 degrees

1. Whisk together the powdered sugar, flour, and mini chocolate chips. Set flour mixture aside.

2. In a stand mixer (or in a 3 qt. bowl with a hand mixer) on medium speed beat the egg whites & cream of tartar until foamy. Then, with the mixer on high speed, beat in the sugar 2 Tbl. at a time adding the vanilla and almond extract and salt with the last 2 Tbl of sugar. Continue beating the egg mixture until it forms stiff peaks and is glossy (forming a meringue).

3. Gradually fold the flour mixture into the meringue 1/4 cup at a time, just until it disappears. Add the batter into an ungreased 10 x 4 tube pan. Gently cut through the batter with a metal spatula.

4. Bake until the cracks on top feel dry and the top springs back when lightly touched. 30 to 35 minutes (I baked mine 30 with the chocolate chips and it was NOT enough time). Invert the pan onto a heatproof funnel (a filled bottle works, too). Let it hang until cool. Remove from pan and serve with fresh whipped cream or as is.

Options: Chocolate = replace 1/4 cup flour with 1/4 cup cocoa (omit almond- unless you want chocolate almond… raspberry sounds yummy, t00).  Coconut = Fold in 1 cup shredded coconut 1/2 cup at a time after adding the flour mixture.

Source: adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook by General Mills, 1988 print edition.

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Cakes & Cupcakes, Desserts >> and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Angel Food Cake w/mini Chocolate Chips

  1. Kim says:

    I made the angel food cake today. Looking forward to trying it. I just wanted to tell you in your written directions you said egg yolks to be mixed with cream of tarter instead of egg whites and it never said when to place the salt.

Join the Baking Party

