Dutch Apple Pie

I wasn’t planning on making this pie, but I’m so glad that I did. I’m not much of an apple pie fan and less of a dutch apple pie fan (even tho’ I do have a fondness for sugar), I pretty much each apple pie for the crust, especially the top crust. If you’ve read my about me you know that I learned how to make pie crust from my Grandma Edith. In April of this year, she finally made it to her eternal resting place and my family asked if I would make an apple in her memory. The pie was literally in-haled by my brother & parents and I was asked if I would make another pie in July to celebrate my mom’s 60th birthday. Unbeknownst to me at the time, my husband posted on his Facebook Status that he couldn’t wait to eat a piece of that pie.

                                                                            The pie was once again inhaled by my family and my husband didn’t get a piece. So, I decided to make a pie for him. I made the dough, put it in the fridge, but didn’t get around to making the pie for a few days. By then, the dough was crumbly and it couldn’t be rolled into a crust. I put the dough into the pie plate and pressed it around with my fingers until it covered the bottom; problem solved. I decided to make a Dutch Apple Pie since that doesn’t require a top crust. Dutch Apple Pie happens to be my husband’s favorite pie and, as timing would have it, it was our anniversary. Look at me racking up the points after 17 years of marriage. Wooo Hooo! I’m saving my points for the big prize… a little bungalo on the beach for our retirement years.  (I’ve mentioned I like to dream big.) The reality is, I just want my husband to stick around & help me with our 4 children and I’m very thankful that he’s tolerated me & my big ideas.

YUMMY CRUST

I didn’t take a picture of the “whole” pie, because my daughters came downstairs about 10 minutes after  took it out of the oven. I couldn’t wait to try it and they wanted some, too. I brought my piece upstairs to eat and asked my husband if he wanted some. At first he said no since it was late, but it must have looked really good and smelled even better because 30 seconds later he changed his mind. I gave him my piece and served myself another one. Oh My Goodness — I couldn’t believe how good the pie was. The bottom crust was perfectly crisp (which says a lot since it was a bottom crust), the warm cinnamon crunch topping mixed with the warm apples was so good that I kept MmmMmming after every bite. This is one pie that you can eat 10-15 minutes after taking it out of the oven (the waiting time is so you don’t burn your mouth on hot pie). It’s also quite tasty at room temperature the next day. I know this because my daughter and I ate the rest for breakfast.

You know what they say, “An apple a day, keeps the doctor away!”

Dutch Apple Pie

Ingredients:
1 pie crust
5 peeled/sliced medium granny smith apples
–(I like the contrast of the sour apple with the sweet toppping)
2 Tbl. sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon all spice (optional, I think All Spice gives the pie a “unique” flavor)
1 tablespoon lemon juice (fresh is best, but use what you have ~ it freezes well)

Topping
3/4 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup butter

Pre-heat oven to 375. Press the pie crust into the pie dish. (or you can roll it out, if you prefer). Set aside. Mix the apples with the rest of the ingredients. Put the apple mixture into the pie dish with the crust.

For the Topping: Use a fork to combine the topping ingredients together until crumbly. Then, sprinkle over the top of the pie. Bake at 375 for 50 minutes.

 

Join the Baking Party

