Mango Salsa

Mangoes are a relatively new fruit to me. I was familiar with them, but they definitely weren’t something I would put on my shopping list. However, Raley’s, a local grocery store, offers a Friday Freebie coupon. This past week’s offer was for 2 mangoes, 2 limes and 1 bunch of cilantro. I don’t know about you, but those ingredients say “salsa” to me. After I arrived at the store, I realized that I didn’t know how to pick out a Mango. Stuff like that always happens to me – my life would be so much easier if my brain worked in a more orderly fashion. I ended up asking someone. – (FYI: It’s not a guarantee, but most likely the “produce employee” is a good resource for questions about produce.)

If you don’t know how to select a mango, here are a few tips. Go by touch, if the mango feels slightly soft then it’s ripe and perfect if you plan to eat it right away or the next day. (Basically the same way you would select a ripe peach or avocado.) Also, ripe mangoes have a slight fruity aroma on the stem end. If you won’t be eating the mango for a few days, select a firmer one and allow it to ripen at room temperature. Placing the fruit in a paper bag will hasten the ripening process. Once the fruit is ripe, place it inside the refrigerator to slow the ripening process or eat it. 🙂

How to Slice a Mango

Slicing a mango can be a little tricky, but only if you don’t know the secret. All you have to do is slice it on either side of the seed; pictured in the background of this photo. Discard the seed and then slice the mango “cheeks” in both directions (called scoring), bend the skin backwards to make the pieces pop up, and use a knife to scrape the cubes off. If you use mangoes frequently you can buy a mango splitter (like an apple corer, but for mangoes.) Find more info. about mangoes at The National Mango Board.

Mango Salsa

  • 2 Mangoes (ripe) – I prefer them sweet & juicy & bright orange inside
  • 1 onion (white, yellow or red – I think red would look really pretty)
  • 1 jalapeño pepper (optional – as well as choosing to use the ribs & seeds=HOT!)
  • 1 bunch of cilantro (depends on your preference how much)
  • 1 regular lime (if you use key lime, use 2)
  • 1-2 pinches of salt (I used coarse kosher because it makes me feel gourmet)

Mango Salsa Surrounded by Salsa Juice

Slice the mango into chunks, setting aside of few of the chunks to add at the end. Then chop the onion, jalapeño pepper, and cilantro. Squeeze the lime juice over the top. Sprinkle with the salt and toss together. If you have a Slap Chop or a Food Chopper from The Pampered Chef, feel free to slap away until you’re happy with the way the salsa looks. Finally add the chunks of mango that you set aside. Put in the fridge to chill & get juicy. I drizzled the salsa juice over grilled white fish. The salsa would be very good in fish tacos, too.

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Holidays & Seasonal >>, Sauces & Salsas, Spring (March/April/May), The Recipe Box and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mango Salsa

  1. Pingback: Too Hot To Cook Recipe Listing |

  2. Pingback: Too Hot To Cook Recipe Listing - Humorous Homemaking

Join the Baking Party

