Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

First, I know that my photography skills are lacking, but they are improving if only ever so slightly at least I hope/think that they are. Aside from lack of experience, not using/owning a DSLR, nor an iPhone either… the biggest issues I have with my photos is that, even tho’ I can tell what went wrong, I am unable to correct the issue, because the “food” is long gone. Case in point, these cupcakes. They looked so much better in real-life and I wish I had used a 100% white background both under and behind the cones. This is such a cute & easy idea, that I didn’t want the poor photo quality to 1) deter you from making this – nor – 2) did I want it to prevent me from sharing this idea with my readers.

I’m sharing these for a few reasons: I wanted to show an alternative to the No Melt Ice Cream Sundae Cupcakes, I have always liked cupcakes baked in an ice cream cone (so much easier to eat in my opinion), and they matched the invitation.  The reason I made the cupcakes… my husband is managing a boys traveling baseball team and he wanted to bring a little treat to share with the team as a way to celebrate the player’s birthdays. Since I am the team mom, the responsibility fell to me and, of course, I happily accepted. My idea is to custom design the treats based on each boys “likes”. In this instance, I hadn’t received a response (it was the first birthday of the season), so I used the birthday boy’s party invitation for inspiration.

To add a little more “FUN” into these conecakes, I took the “sprinkle-theme” one step further by filling the cones with  a homemade version of “FUN-fetti” cake batter. I was tempted to tint the cake batter “lime” green, but I didn’t want to get too carried away. In hindsight, I wish I had. After all these were for boys & boys think lime green stuff is COOL!!

[print_this]

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes –

  • Heavenly Cake (I used 1/2 recipe to make 12)
  • 12 Ice Cream Cones –
  • optional: 1/4 c nonpareils or sprinkles for “FUNfetti” style cake

Buttercream Frosting (See NO Melt Ice Cream Sundae Cupcakes)

  • 1 cup of butter
  • 2 cups of powdered sugar
  • 1 Tbl milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla (or flavor of your choice)
  • gel food color
  • sprinkles

Extras:

  • Candy melts
  • Sprinkles

Pre-heat oven to 350ºF

Mix cake as directed. Fold in nonpareils. Fill the cones 1/2 to 2/3 full with cake batter (I used a disposable pastry bag-the BEST idea ever). Place filled cones upright on a baking sheet, carefully place into pre-heated oven. Bake for 15 minutes. Use a tooth pick to check for doneness.

While the cone-cakes are baking prepare the frosting. Place plastic wrap so that it touches the top of the frosting and place in the refrigerator to chill while cupcakes are baking & cooling.

After the cupcakes have cooled. Take the frosting out of the fridge. Using a cookie scoop (the kind that has a lever that pops the dough out), scoop mounds of frosting onto each conecup so that it resembles a scoop of ice cream on a cone.

Option 1: You can either apply sprinkles at this step & you need to do so immediately while the frosting is still soft enough for the sprinkles to stick. (Once the frosting dries, the sprinkles won’t stay on – but you knew that.)

Option 2: Melt candy melts or chocolate and pour a bit on the top of the frosting. Allow to drip down the side a bit. Immediately sprinkle with sprinkles.

[/print_this]

 

This post has been linked to The FrugalGirls.com Chic ‘n Crafty Party

 

 


About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Cakes & Cupcakes, frosting, Kid Favorites, The Recipe Box and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the Baking Party

