Potato Chips

Sometimes, it really is all about the simple things. Having a food blog has helped me to plan what we are going to eat, think about healthier alternatives, has challenged me to make things that I’ve never considered making, and the best part is I get to share the recipes with you! My family loves potato chips – an open bag doesn’t last an hour in this house, unless I make each person get a bowl, read the package for the serving size, & count out the number of chips that they are going to eat. Yes, I REALLY do that.  So when I saw this recipe for Potato Chips, I knew that I would be making them. I wanted to try adding a few flavorings, but my family liked them, as is — the other “perk” to making these is you can eat them fresh from the oven. Potato chips are good, potato chips warm from the oven, well… you’ll have to experience that for yourself.

Potato Chips

  • Equivalent to 4 Large Potatoes – washed & dried (Use your favorite type(s) ~ Russet Potatoes pictured)
  • 1/4 c oil (I like the health benefits of e.v. olive oil –  less oil will work, too)
  • salt

Place oven racks so that they are positioned in the top and bottom thirds of oven; then preheat to 400ºF. Prepare 2 large baking sheets by misting with oil/cooking spray.

The original recipe says to peel the potatoes, I left the skin on. Slice potatoes 1/8-inch thick (1/4 inch will work). In a bowl, toss potatoes with oil until coated. (Next time I make these I’m going to soak the cut potatoes in cold water for 20 minutes, pat dry, then toss in oil before baking to see if it affects the texture.)

Place as many potato slices as you can fit in a single layer on each sheet. Bake until golden brown.  Be sure to swap the baking sheets from top to bottom & rotate front to back every 6 minutes. Baking time ranges from 12 – 18 minutes.

Immediately sprinkle chips with salt, remove from tray and cool. Repeat with remaining potato slices.

Source: Adapted from the July 2011 issue of All You

Join the Baking Party

