Cookies & Cream Ice Cream {no ice cream maker needed}

Do you ever get the feeling that someone is trying to tell you something? You know, like the universe is giving you “signs”? The same thing keeps popping up and even tho’ you try to ignore it, you can’t seem to avoid it? Luckily for me, that typically happens with yummy treats. I enjoy reading, but I don’t typically read my cookbooks, correction, didn’t. Cookbooks to me, are the equivalent to adult versions of children’s picture books. I enjoy flipping through the pages, drooling (not literally!) over the pictures. However, when I came up with this “bright-idea” to start a baking blog, I actually started reading them. Like bringing them to bed with me and falling asleep holding the book (btw, I advise against doing this with your bulkier cookbooks, especially if you have wood floors & your bedroom is upstairs~they can be kinda disturbing to the rest of the household when they fall off the bed in the middle of the night or so I’ve heard.) Anyway…since July was National Ice Cream Month I decided to read the Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream Recipe Book. Who knew that it had an entire section in the front telling about their humble beginnings?? I bet that would have been a FUN blog to read, you know, if they had blogs back then. Anyway, they list 3 different bases for ice cream; one which uses condensed milk and cream. Then, I read a few ice cream recipes using condensed milk in the booklet that came with my ice cream maker. The 3rd sign was the post by i am baker – again using condensed milk & cream. Plus, I had a been wanting to make sweetened condensed milk ever since I read that recipe. I had two choices – either continue ignoring the signs or make ice cream. I chose the latter ~

Oreo Cookies and Creme Ice Cream

  • 2 c cream (heavy cream is ok, too)
  • 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 package Oreo Sandwich Cookies (divided in half) / or mix-in of your choice
  • optional: 1 tsp. vanilla or flavoring of your choice

Mix the cream, s.c.milk, and 1/2 package of Oreo cookies together and whip until light and fluffy with a hand mixer.

Crush/Break the remaining Oreo cookies into bite-sized pieces and mix-into the creamy mixture.

Freeze for 4 hours or overnight.

Source: Adapted from the Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream Book.

One comment

  1. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

Join the Baking Party

