DIY Sweetened Condensed Milk

I realize that most likely nobody is going to run to their kitchen and whip up a batch of this delightful concoction, but I assure there is a method to my madness relevant reason I’m sharing this. Sometimes I come across recipes and the first thing that comes to my mind is, “duh”..why didn’t I think about making that? As much as I enjoy baking from scratch, I realized that I tend to be on auto-pilot when it comes to buying ingredients. (i.e., flour, baking powder, butter, seasonings, etc.) That was true of this recipe. It never even occurred to me that I could make condensed milk. It’s not something that I frequently use, so I don’t typically keep it stocked in my pantry. However, I’ve recently come across several recipes requiring condensed milk (rocky road candy, iced cafe mochas, mocha latte popsicles and root beer, cookies ‘n cream & cinnamon ice creams, etc…) so my curiosity was definitely piqued when I happened upon this recipe.  Once I read how simple it was, I knew I’d be making it. The only catch was, it doesn’t keep so I also needed to be sure that when I made it, I had a plan for using it. If you have leftovers, it’s delicious stirred into a hot drink (coffee, tea, hot cocoa) making a wonderful chemical-free substitute for flavored coffee creamers; just add vanilla, cocoa powder/mint extract, or cinnamon flavorings. Lastly, it tastes delicious drizzled over dessert or used as a dip for fruit. So now, if you happen to come across a recipe that requires condensed milk, but you don’t have any and you can’t get to the store – you will be able to make it yourself. 🙂

Still not convinced? I do realize that you can buy it at the store, especially if you’re good at planning and remembering stuff like that. (Then there’s people like me who go to the store to purchase a specific item and end up at home with with 10 items that I needed, but didn’t put on my list, but then somehow forgot to purchase what was on my list?) However the can at the store can’t be modified and this recipe can; did you catch the pun? 🙂  Modifications: 1)The butter can be substituted with a lower fat alternative or completely omitted, 2)the sugar can be lessened according to taste, and 3)the amount of powdered milk can be adjusted as well to make a thicker/thinner version.

TOTALLY customizable. 4 ingredients. 5 minutes.

The source, Almost Bourdain, that I used for this recipe listed the measurements for the ingredients by weight. I happen to have a kitchen scale, so it was no problem for me…but I didn’t want to alienate my readers who don’t have a scale. So, I converted the measurements into cups.

Sweetened Condensed Milk (recipe can be halved)

6 Tbl butter
2 cups sugar
1 cup water
4 cups powdered milk (typically sold in a box, but less expensive buying from bulk bins, plus you can buy as much or as little as you want)

  1. On low, gently boil the butter, sugar and water in a saucepan until the sugar is dissolved.
  2. Remove from heat.
  3. Whisking vigorously, add in the milk powder, 1/2 cup at a time, until it’s completely dissolved.

Ta -Da… you’ve made sweetened condensed milk!

Source – Barely adapted from Almost Bourdain ~ I also found a very similar recipe at Hillbilly Housewife (says it can be stored for 2 days on the counter, or 2 weeks in the fridge)

 

Join the Baking Party

