Brownie Alpine Biscotti

Years ago, I received this recipe via an e-mail from my friend Mary M. and it’s dated the day before my second child, Isabella, was born. I have been making this biscotti every year at Christmas time for the past 12 years. I know that it’s a little early for Christmas baking and summer hasn’t quite succumbed to Fall, but I had a very good reason for making this biscotti. Besides, it’s so good, I should definitely make it more than once a year.

Recently I received another offer for a prize package from MyBlogSpark. This time, the main focus of the give-away was Box-Tops for Education. In case you are not familiar with the Box-Tops program – there are several pre-packaged products that have a Box-Top for education logo printed on the package. Just as many schools do, the school that my children attend participates in this program so we cut the box-tops off the packages, turn them into the school, and  the school receives 10 cents for each one. I am always surprised at how many box-tops we are able to collect since I don’t typically purchase a lot of pre-packaged foods. Initially I was hesitant about sharing this giveaway with you because it included a box of brownie mix and I almost always back from scratch.  But, then I remembered that I ALWAYS make this recipe using a boxed brownie mix. “I love light-bulb moments!” Anyway, I’ve used many different brands of brownie mixes and the biscotti always tastes great, but from now on, I just may use Betty Crocker Brownie mix since it’s the only brand in the baking aisle with Box Tops. I am thankful that this giveaway reminded me of this recipe and am excited to share it with you.

[print_this]

Brownie Alpine Biscotti ~ yields 2 1/2 dozen

  • 1 pkg brownie mix (13″ x 9″)
  • 3/4 c ground almonds
  • 1/2 c flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • (optional: add 1/2-1 cup white chocolate chips)
  • 1 egg plus 3 egg whites
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4c slice almonds ~ optional
  • 3 oz. or leftover white chocolate ~ optional

In a large bowl whisk together the dry ingredients. – set aside

In a small bowl whisk the eggs and extract. Add to the brownie mixture until combined; the batter will be very thick & sticky. You’ll be dividing the batter/dough into thirds. On a silpat lined (or greased) baking sheet, using greased hands/fingers shape each portion into 7″ x 3 1/2″ rectangles. Bake at 350 for 24 minutes.

 

Remove from the oven; cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes. Transfer to a cutting board; using a serrated knife, cut diagonally into 3/4″ slices.

 

 

 

Place the cut side down on to the silpat lined or greased sheets. Bake 12-14 minutes until firm. Cool on wire racks. If desired, sprinkle with sliced almonds and drizzle with white chocolate. Let stand until chocolate is completely set. Store in an airtight container.

[/print_this]

Source: unknown – I received the recipe from my friend Mary M.

“Disclosure: The Betty Crocker products, information, and giveaway have been provided by Betty Crocker through MyBlogSpark”, is open to U.S. residents, and includes some fun cup-caked themed items: (mine included a box of Betty Crocker Milk Chocolate Brownie mix, pictured, so that may be included as well.)

  • Cupcake iclips (hand for bookmarking recipes)
  • Cupcake bag (the little brown cupcake looking item in the corner – there’s bag folded up in there)
  • Cupcake notepads (for listing ingredients that you need to buy)
  • Box Tops for Education pencils (for making your ingredient shopping list)
  • Neoprene Lunch Sack (for sending your treats to school with your kids or for packing your own lunch)

These items would also make at thoughtful donation to a shelter, a school or a local food pantry.

To enter the giveaway leave a comment below sharing which of your favorite Betty Crocker dessert mixes you plan to purchase to collect the Box Tops and help your local schools or how Box Tops for Education might help improve your child´s school. The contest ends on Sunday, September 18th at 9pm PST. The winner will be selected from the list of comments received using the plug-in “And the Winner Is”. Good Luck!!

The opinions expressed in this blog are my personal opinion as well as the recipe. I did not receive compensation and the prize package was given to me unconditionally. I chose to share the Box Tops for Education Program with my readers because it is a program that my family has been participating/supporting for many years.

For more information about Betty Crocker products or the Box Tops for Education Program please visit the following links:

Congratulations to Lori who said,

“I love Biscotti of almost any kind, cant wait to try this one !!! My kids are in high school now and they don’t collect boxtops but we save them for a friend who has little ones and they use them at their school along with our “bonus card” from a local store that is
connected to their school. My kids still love Betty Crocker brownies and we make them every week so collecting the box tops isn’t a problem here, lol. Can’t wait to use a box to try this recipe!!!”

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
Gallery | This entry was posted in breakfast, Christmas, cookies, Desserts >>, Holidays & Seasonal >>, Kid Favorites, muffins, The Recipe Box, Winter (December/January/February) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Brownie Alpine Biscotti

  1. Kim says:

    Just found your blog through the Frugal Girls blog post on your recipe for vanilla bean creamer. Looks yummy and can’t wait to try. I like to bake from scratch too, but do love a good batch of Brownies from a box. My kids are all collecting box tops for their schools, so we are always on the hunt for more. Thanks for sharing your recipes!

  2. Daija Ritchey says:

    I will definitely have to try your recipe using the brownie mix. I always collect box tops for my son’s school. And actually before he was in school, I used to collect them and send to my younger brother for his school!

  3. Kerry Corkey says:

    Looks delish! I save the boxtops too, made sure all the ones we had before we moved got turned in and now have more for their
    new schools!

  4. Julie L says:

    I collect box tops for my nephews school..i would buy the Lemon Bar mixs thanks

  5. Renee Heino says:

    I saw the post on facebook with Frugal Girls about the creamer, I am going to make it tomorrow. I didn’t have all the ingredients yet. I did make the Carmel sauce and fell in love. I want to try the Biscotti since I have never had it so I get the brownie mix.

  6. karen says:

    I was looking for something to bake this weekend when I saw this post – and the bonus is the box tops 🙂 Right now, Betty
    Croker has 2 box tops on the brownies and cake mixes (at least in the market near us). Thanks!!!

  7. Alyssa says:

    As someone in the field of education Box Tops rock! I’m a sucker for chocolate, so the brownie mix is going to have to be my next purchase from Betty Crocker! Box tops and chocolate…Oh yeah!

  8. Lori M. says:

    Dianne – Your recipes are always so amazing. I am so thankful I found your blog! We also collect boxtops for little man’s school and it’s amazing how quickly they add up!

  9. Maureen Leahy says:

    I love Betty Crocker brownie mix but I think I use the Devis Food cake mix the most. I can’t wait to try the biscotti recipe! My sons’ school collects the box tops, and lucky me, I am the committee chair!

  10. Heather Cunningham says:

    LOVE this blog♥ Everything looks delicious but the Brownie Alpine Biscotti recipe has won me over HANDS DOWN! Gotta try it! Keep up the awesome recipes~I’m hooked!
    Thanks!

  11. Chrissie says:

    FUN da-Middles™ White Cupcake Mix with Creamy Chocolate Filling – I’ve seen these in the store and I’m sure my boys will enjoy making them – maybe for Dad’s birthday. As the BoxTops coordinator at their school I’m always on the lookout for them 🙂

  12. Tracy says:

    I will certainly be trying your recipe now since I know they have the box tops for school…..I save them for my granddaughters. I don’t get many, but I save all I can and give them to the girls when they come to visit. Thank you so much for sharing!

  13. Susan says:

    Can’t wait to try the biscotti recipe. They are my favorite to dunk in coffee!

    • Baking 4 Six says:

      It’s an easy recipe. I think I put some in your Christmas box (almost 2 years ago)… my kids LOVE it and they ate it ALL. They say, I give away everything and never save it for them so I apologize for not sharing… but I’m making another batch soon, with a “Halloween” theme!!

  14. Lori says:

    I love Biscotti of almost any kind, cant wait to try this one !!! My kids are in high school now and they dont collect boxtops but we
    save them for a friend who has little ones and they use them at their school along with our “bonus card” from a local store that is
    connected to their school. My kids still love Betty Crocker brownies and we make them every week so collecting the box tops isnt
    a problem here, lol. Cant wait to use a box to try this recipe!!!

    • Baking 4 Six says:

      Congratulations Lori ~ this is the 2nd giveaway that I’ve had on my blog and the first winner was “Lori”, too (and her last name started with the same letter as your last name) —

  15. Jennifer Cabrera says:

    Betty Crocker mixes are great when you are short on time (which is often with 3 children and another on the way). We have collected box tops for years and they help buy additional items for our school library. LOVE your blog! Thanks for all the hard work. I must try this recipe next!!

  16. Doni Rogneby says:

    love all the yummy recipes!

  17. Amy says:

    Found your blog through Frugal Girls… absolutely love all your ideas. Am definitely going to try the homemade creamer and the caramel sauce. I am a sucker for caramel. Thank you for sharing all your wonderful ideas.

  18. Kristin Bailey says:

    Hi

    I love using the betty crocker yellow cakemix to make a butterscotch pudding coffee cake! Yum! I also use the strawberry cakemix to make a white chocolate strawberry cake that tastes like the berry captain crunch cereal. It’s so yummy!. Thanks!

    • Baking 4 Six says:

      Butterscotch pudding coffee cake sounds yummy – if you use FB, you can find me there http://www.facebook.com/baking4six. On the left side of the blog you’ll see a “discussions” tab where people can share recipes — I bet other’s would like to have this recipe 🙂 — I always did like Captain Crunch with Crunch Berries, lol.

  19. Mauri Bishop says:

    I will be #9. Looking forward to trying your recipes

  20. Heather Bogosian says:

    My all time fav Betty Crocker mix is for brownies. Nothing hits the spot like a chewy brownie with crusty edges. Since I dont have kids, I save the box tops for my coworker, who uses them at her son’s school.

    P.S. Love the blog! This entry makes think that these biscotti might actually make me like drinking coffee.

    • Baking 4 Six says:

      That’s kind of you to collect box-tops for your co-worker. Thank you for the compliment, it means a lot. – The biscotti is good with milk, too!!… I’ll be posting a chai tea recipe soon (if the weather would cool down enough) and I be the biscotti would pair well with that, too.

  21. Shelly Drewsen says:

    Yum! We just made a Betty Crocker German Chocolate Cake today! Does that count as a yummy dessert?

Comments are closed.