Maple {Leaf} Candies

I coated these with granulated sugar, more for looks than taste; they are just as tasty "no sugar added"

I can’t remember the last time I ate a maple candy, however I do remember the first time. My Grandma Edith brought them back from a trip (I’m assuming from the East Coast) and they were individually wrapped and shaped like mini boys/girls & maple leaves. Both the flavor and the texture of the maple candies was/is definitely unique which is why I think this memory has stayed with me many years later. I’ve never been a huge fan of Maple Syrup, but then again that’s because the maple syrup I was used to is technically maple-flavored corn syrup, not the real stuff. So it’s not a surprise that I’ve never considered maple candies to be a favorite or even something I desired, but after I made them, I couldn’t stop eating them. I’m a convert w/ a tummy ache to prove it!!

One piece is enough to satisfy even the most die-hard “Sweet Tooth”. Not only are they yummy and perfect for fall, but they are made from 100% pure maple syrup, so they are also considered a “whole food”; as opposed to the highly refined white sugar which, as you know, is one of my most favorite things!! So the good news is these candies are all natural and if you make them using organic ingredients, you can make that claim as well. – However, you should make them because they are delicious and your friends & family will think that you are ultra-super-talented. (It can totally be our secret that these coveted candies are 100% maple syrup cooked until the maple sugar remains & crystalizes. How easy is that? So easy! – my 2nd daughter was a huge Pat the Bunny fan.)

FYI: I couldn’t find a maple leaf mold locally, I made many special trips to the craft stores over several weeks and no such luck. However, I did find a few on-line so they do exist… You can use any mold, or if you are willing to play around a little – you can cut them with cookie cutters (that part is kinda tricky, because the syrup goes from liquid to solid in a matter of SECONDS!).

Aren't these the cutest mini-cutters? They are made by Wilton and I purchased them at Michael's.

[print_this]

Maple {Leaf} Candies

  • 2 cups 100% pure Maple Syrup
  • 1 Tbl butter (optional – makes the texture slightly creamier)

1. Using a heavy bottomed pan, bring the syrup (and butter) to a boil. Insert a candy thermometer and continue to cook until the syrup reaches 235-240 degrees.

2. Allow to cool for about 5 minutes.

3. Stir briskly until the syrup thickens, lightens and starts to turn opaque then STOP stirring! This is the critical part, if you stir it too much the syrup will harden in the pan (if this happens, it can be re-heated until it’s liquid again – however, the texture will be slightly off). Trust your instincts when to stop.

4. Pour into molds or into a foil lined cookie sheet. Cut into squares or use mini cookie cutters. (If you have a lot of mini-cutters, you could pour into the cutters.)

5. Allow to cool. – Store in an airtight container.

[/print_this]

Tips:

<<< Before = the syrup is thin and dark

AND

After = the syrup has started to thicken, lighten and become opaque>>>

*You may want to start by making 1/2 the recipe or less, so you can get a feel of when to stop stirring the cooked syrup.

Source: Maple Leaves About.com candy by Elizabeth LaBau

This post has been linked to the Frugal Girls! Chic ‘n Crafty Party  I’m Lovin’ It , and Crazy for Crust

4 comments

  1. I grew up in Vermont, the next town over from Maple Grove Farms. Even so, we only indulged in these treats about once a year, usually during “Fall Foliage” time. As a child I was enchanted by all the fun shapes (as you mentioned) they came in! This might actually be a candy I can make successfully! And it would be fun to surprise my mom and dad with a few. Thanks so much for sharing this, Dianne!

    • June, thank you for sharing your story. I learned something about my husband (something new 19+ years later….). I asked him to taste one and he smiled and said that maple is his favorite flavor; then he ate ALL of them. They last for weeks in an airtight container. Needless to say, I’m going to make some more 🙂

Join the Baking Party

