Pumpkin Snickerdoodle Coffeecake Bars

 

The smell of these bars say, “Hello Fall” and one bite says, “I’m so glad you’re here!” It’s no secret that I love the long, lazy days of summer and Fall just signals the end. While I doubt that my feelings for summer will ever change, Fall has literally been warming it’s way into my heart. Through the years I’ve fallen in love with hot drinks such as spiced chai tea lattes &  Spiced Pumpkin Creamer in my coffee, and there’ just something about apple pie made with a hint of  “all spice”. While I’ve always been a huge fan of roasted pumpkin seeds, over the years I’ve developed quite an affection for pumpkins in general. I’m not sure if it’s because their round & orange appearance reminds me of my favorite celestial body or if it’s because of the way they give off a warm, homey cheerful feeling that makes the end of summer not so bad after all bearable.

In keeping with my ever-growing affection for pumpkins, this year I made pumpkin puree from scratch. It was something I’d never done and the pie pumpkins are so darn cute that I just couldn’t help to bring one home; truthfully I had a hard time turning it into puree knowing it would no longer be hanging around making my kitchen look festive & fall-ish. Next time, I’ll buy 2. One for making into puree at the beginning of Fall and the next to save for after Thanksgiving & freeze for future use. After using the puree to make the creamer, I had plenty left to make more “pumpkin” goodies. I’d recently seen several recipes for Pumpkin Snickerdoodles (simply add 2/3c pumpkin puree & pumpkin pie spice to the dough before baking), but I wanted something just a little different. So when I saw the recipe for Snickerdoodle Bars – I knew that’s what I would be making. Overall, I was very pleased with the results, however – when I think of bars, I think of brownies or blondies – thick & chewy. The resulting texture was light & fluffy and cake like; just as you would expect from a Snickerdoodle Cookie. It sliced beautifully without crumbling and made perfect little individual “bars” which I shared. The addition of white whole wheat flavor fit perfectly with the pumpkin & fall spices, however I’m sure they would be just as yummy and perhaps a tad more decadent with 100% AP flour.

[print_this]

Pumpkin Snickerdoodle Coffeecake Bars ~ yields 2 dozen bars/squares

Batter:

  • 1 1/3 c white whole wheat flour
  • 1 c AP flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 3/4 c butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 c  sugar
  • 1/2 c packed brown sugar (I used dark)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 c pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Filling:

Glaze:

Pre-heat oven to 350°. Grease a 9 x 13 rectangle baking dish. (I used the wrapper from the butter). Mix together the flour(s), baking powder, salt and pumpkin pie spice and set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer cream the butter, then add the sugars and mix until fluffy. Beat in the 3 eggs and vanilla until incorporated. Slowly mix in the flour.

Carefully pour/spread half of the batter into the greased dish. Mix the “Filling” ingredients together and sprinkle evenly over the top of the batter. Then, drop/dollop the remaining dough in teaspoon-sized amounts onto the top of the filling topped batter – Bake at 350° for approximately 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. (check at 20, may need to go to 30).

Cool Completly. Mix together the “Glaze” and drizzle over the top. If the glaze it too thick to drizzle add a little more milk.

[/print_this]

Source: Recipe adapted from Betty Crocker’s Snickerdoodle Bars

This post has been shared with The Frugal Girls! Chic ‘n Crafty Party,

and The Tidy Mom I’m Lovin’ It Fridays

 

 

Join the Baking Party

