Reese’s Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Brownies

Who doesn’t like Peanut Butter & Chocolate? Not only is the name a mouthful, but so are these treats; brownies made w/Reese’s Peanut Butter Chips and Peanut Butter Cookie Dough w/mini chocolate chips topped with chocolate ganache and Reese’s Pieces. I almost called these Pretty Marvelous Snack or “PMS” Bars for short, but decided not to go there, lol. From what I’ve read, pretty much any peanut butter & chocolate treat seems to win the popularity contest lately here in blogland. The light & dark brown hues of the peanut butter cookie dough, ganache & brownie along with the orange, brown & yellow candies are perfect Halloween & Fall colors.

Not only are these bars the perfect FALL colors they taste even better – my only regret was that I made them for someone else. You may recall the Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes or the Root Beer Float Cupcakes  that I made for the baseball team that my husband manages. This month the birthday boy’s favorite cake is chocolate and Reese’s is his favorite ice cream and candy bar, so when I saw these I knew that I had found the perfect treat. If you’re planning to make them to share, and these are definitely too good not to share – I suggest doubling the recipe so you have some to keep for yourself. The recipe itself is quite simple, however creating the 3 layers is a bit more time consuming. I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly both the cookie dough and ganache came together. This recipe is worth the extra effort and doubling the recipe would definitely make it more than worth your while. -Does anyone still say phrases like “worth your while”? I’m not sure how else to phrase that. I think I need to go indulge in another one of these bars; the ones I hid for myself that I decided NOT to share with my family. Shhh 😉 – If I would’ve made a second batch I could’ve kept that one all for myself!

**Bonus: You get a recipe for homemade brownies, however they are not as dark, rich & fudgy as I prefer brownies to be, however anything richer would be too much for these. Luckily, I also made these Rich & Fudgy Brownies.

[print_this]

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Brownies

Brownie Layer ~

  • 1/2 c unsalted butter
  • 2 (1-ounce squares) unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2/3 cAP flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • optional: 3/4 cup peanut butter chips (or Reese’s pieces)

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Layer ~

  • 1/4 c unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 c packed light brown sugar
  • 2 Tbl milk
  • 1/2 c creamy peanut butter
  • 2/3 c AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • optional: 1/4c mini chocolate chips

Ganache Layer ~

  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup Reese’s Pieces or Peanut Butter Chips

Preheat the Oven to 350°F. Mist the bottom and sides of an 8 by 8-inch pan with cooking oil, line the pan with a strip of parchment paper so that the parchment paper sticks up on opposite sides. (This makes the brownie pop-out of the pan easily and without breaking.) Then mist the parchment paper with oil, too.

Brownies: Microwave the butter and unsweetened chocolate in a glass bowl at high power for 30 seconds. Stir. Continue the intervals of heating on high for 30 seconds and stirring until the butter is melted (approx. 1 1/2 minutes), then stir until the chocolate is melted and combined. Add the vanilla. Set aside to cool.

Beat the sugar and eggs in a large bowl and add the semi-cooled chocolate mixture. Stir in the flour, baking powder, salt and peanut butter chips. Spread the brownie mixture into the prepared pan and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of the brownies comes out clean, about 22 to 28 minutes (mine baked for 25 minutes). Remove from the oven and let cool for at least 30 minutes.

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough: Mix the butter and brown sugar in a large bowl until creamy. Stir in the milk and peanut butter. Add the flour and salt and continue mixing until the ingredients are combined well and form a soft dough. optional: Add mini chocolate chips. Spread the peanut butter cookie dough on top of the cooled brownies.

Ganache: Microwave the dark choc and heavy whipping cream, uncovered, on high for 30 seconds. Stir. (Heat for an additional 15-30 seconds, if needed.) Stir until the chocolate is melted; the mixture should be smooth. Spread the ganache over the peanut butter layer and sprinkle with the Reese’s Pieces. Refrigerate for about 1 hour or until the dough and ganache are set. Cut into 16 squares when ready to serve. – These bars are best if kept chilled until ready to serve, but are delicious no matter what.

[/print_this]

Source: Adapted from The Food Network – Recipe courtesy Kerstin Sinkevicius.

This post has been shared with The Frugal Girls Chic ‘n Crafty Party

and to The Tidy Mom I’m Lovin’ It Fridays

and Tasty Tuesday

About Baking 4 Six

Sharing my love of baking, sugar, spice & everything nice one recipe at a time. You can also find me on Facebook at www.facebook.com/baking4six.
Gallery | This entry was posted in cookies, FALL (September/October/November), Halloween, Kid Favorites, Party Ideas & Entertaining, The Recipe Box and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reese’s Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Brownies

  1. Jeannette says:

    I just learned about this blog from you on the “Oh, for the love of food!” page on facebook! I can’t wait to try this recipe, and to browse through your blog! Thanks so much for sharing! 🙂

    • Baking 4 Six says:

      awwww….Thank you so much! ~ Debbie Wysocki invited me to join the “Oh, for the love of food!” FB page. Rather than re-write the recipes – I linked to my blog.
      Meanwhile, I’m looking forward to trying some of the yummy recipes I’ve seen posted on the FB page, too 🙂

      p.s. These treats were delivered & devoured tonight and received RAVE reviews from the birthday boy and the rest of the team as per my husband.

  2. Jennifer says:

    These are the best brownies ever. My son could not stop talking about how amazing they were and he keeps asking me when I can make them for him…Thanks for sharing this great recipe with us!

  3. Nicole says:

    I would SO make these…but one slight problem. I’m allergic to peanuts 😦
    Haha, story of my life 🙂

    • Baking 4 Six says:

      awwww… Nicole, that is a bummer 😦
      Thank you so much for reading my post and commenting tho’ – that was really sweet!
      I’m planning to make a “Whopper” brownie soon. Meanwhile, there’s lots of other recipes “without” peanuts 🙂

Join the Baking Party

