Roasted Garlic-Potato Soup {15 Minute Recipe}

I hesitated to share this soup with you because it’s sort of a cheat. However, I’ve already made the soup twice this month and it’s simply too easy & delicious not to share. It’s also cold here. Below freezing cold (that means below 32 degrees in my book). It’s true, this California girl is a total wimp when it comes to cold weather so I not only seek out hot food, but food that sticks to my insides and warms me from the inside out is absolutely a winner in my book or in this instance, my blog. As a bonus this recipe takes less than 15 minutes to make – that includes both prep & cook time as in from start to finish!!

Not only is this soup a quick, comforting lunch, but it also serves as an alternative side dish to the main meal of the day and will complement just about any veggie as well. The main part of this recipe comes from a box – *that’s the part where I cheated… but I’m thinking that it could very easily be modified using mashed potatoes. My mother-in-law makes mashed potatoes frequently and always makes a huge batch, now I have the perfect recipe to use up some of the potatoes which never seem to be quite as good re-heated as they are when they were fresh.

Sauteed Squash w/evoo and seasoned salt

The first time I made it, I served the left-over soup with our nightly dinner and mixed in some asparagus. For today’s lunch, I sauteed* some zucchini and yellow squash I found in my fridge begging to to be resuscitated or put out of their misery, I opted to resuscitate.

[print_this]

*Sauteed Squash

Slice the squash/zucchini into circles then cut into fourths – I believe the foodie term would be to dice the squash. Heat a pan over medium/high heat, drizzle with olive oil, add the squash & sprinkle with the seasoned salt to taste. Move the squash around over the medium-high heat until slightly browned, hot & barely softened. Remove from the heat.

Roasted Garlic-Potato Soup {Makes 8 1-cup servings, recipe can be halved}

  • 4 cups milk (your choice)
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 package (approx. 7.6-7.8 oz) roasted garlic instant mashed potatoes
  • 2 cups shredded cheese divided
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground peppercorns

In a large saucepan add the milk and water and bring just to a boil. Remove from the heat and stir in the potatoes until well blended. Add 1 1/2 cups of cheese and continue to stir until the cheese is melted/incorporated into the potatoes.

To serve: Ladle evenly into 8 cups, sprinkle with cheese and add a little ground pepper.

optional: add veggies of your choice

Sides: Romaine Salad (romaine lettuce, cherry tomotoes halved, sliced purple onion, drizzle withe dressing) and Bagel Chips (thinly slice 2 bagels, lightly spray with olive oil, bake at 350° for 5 minutes or until crisp.

[/print_this]

Source: Barely modified from Cooking Light 5 Ingredient / 15 minute Cookbook by Oxmoor House

This recipe was shared with The Frugal Girls Chic ‘n Crafty Party

 

 

 

One comment

Join the Baking Party

