Orange Creamsicle Smoothie

I remember my dad telling me about this place he used to get yummy orange drinks,  Orange Julius. I think orange was my dad’s favorite flavor – which was weird to me, because I didn’t even like orange flavored – anything!! Not even sugar covered, orange jelly candies could persuade me. We lived in a small town – with no Orange Julius, no Toys R Us, no See’s Candy and no FARRELL’s Ice Cream Parlor.  That doesn’t have anything to do with this post, I just REALLY missed those places.I’m not sure when I tasted my first “authentic” Orange Julius, but I do remember the first time I tasted one of the yummiest drinks ever – a drink which made me add “orange” to one of my favorite flavors; a drink which is just as tasty if not better than the name brand. I was visiting my friend Shelly & her family served me a yummy drink made in their very own blender… I was hooked. I was SO hooked, even 25 years later, my Shelly still remembered how much I liked that drink.

Anyway, today, my daughter wasn’t feeling well, had a slight fever & not much of an appetite. She asked me to make her a “smoothie”. I was out of frozen strawberries and so I couldn’t make the one thing that actually sounded appetizing to her. I must digress a moment here… my “smoothies” are for the most part healthy – fruit, ice, protein powder, yogurt, sometimes spinach etc… I felt bad about not being able to make the smoothie & then I saw a can of frozen orange,pineapple,banana concentrate in my freezer & the idea struck me. Even though it wasn’t exactly orange juice concentrate, I figured it was worth a try.I get really excited when I have “a-ha, mom-saves-the-day” moments that my children actually appreciate. I mixed up the concentrate with some milk, vanilla, ice & sugar. While it’s not the healthiest smoothie I typically blend for my children, it was a special surprise & a treat for my ailing child; at least it had milk, vitamin C and some water for hydration. Plus it made enough to serve 2 more kiddos.
This recipe is SO easy to modify, and I have made it with varying amounts of each ingredient ~

[print_this]

Orange Creamsicle Smoothie (Serves 2-3)

  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup Orange Juice Concentrate (or more to taste)
  • 1 cup of Milk
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • about 15 Ice Cubes
  • sweetener to taste (I use a dash of Stevia)/vanilla yogurt works well, too. – Sugar makes it tastes more like an Orange Julius, but obviously less healthy.
  • optional:   Meringue Powder to taste, also makes it taste more like an Orange Julius

Add orange juice concentrate, milk, vanilla, and 7 ice cubes into a blender and blend. Add sweetener to taste, the optional meringue powder and a few ice cubes. Blend until creamy adding ice cubes until the desired consistency is achieved.

[/print_this]

 

Join the Baking Party

