Cream Puffs

Not the best photo, but my daughter Alex edited for me so it makes it special (ps. I got carried away with the cream)

I like dough, I like crust.  – I love cream, too! and I believe I mentioned how much I like sugar… put them all together & that makes Cream Puffs.  My mom has been making this cream puff recipe forever and it always receives rave reviews. They are quick & easy and can be made in multiple sizes – using few ingredients & dishes – win-win-win – and they are fancy enough to take center stage on a dessert table. They can be filled with just about anything, my preference is whipped cream. (Pudding, Mouse, Ice Cream – Chocolate Whipped Cream)… They aren’t sweet so you could fill them with a savory dip, but I’ll stop here before I get carried away – I’ll leave that up to you.

Cream Puffs(Printer Friendly) ~ Makes 12 cream puffs

Ingredients:

Pre-Heat oven to 400

1 cup water

½ cup butter (salted)

1 cup all-purpose flour

4 eggs

Whipped Cream

Powdered Sugar

Directions:

In 2 1/2-quart saucepan, heat water and butter to rolling boil. Stir in flour; reduce heat to low. Stir vigorously about 1 minute or until mixture forms a ball; remove from heat. Beat in eggs all at once; continue beating until smooth. Drop dough by scant 1/4 cupfuls 3 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until puffed and golden. Cool away from draft, about 30 minutes. Cut off top third of each puff and pull out any strands of soft dough. Fill with whipped cream and sprinkle with powdered sugar.

Source: Betty Crocker’s Cookbook or online

You could also bake them oblong (as in hot dog bun shaped) – and turn them into eclairs – and top them with a chocolate glaze…

Join the Baking Party

