Pan di Mie {via Mister Loaf the Bread Machine}

My bread machine got a lot of use BC (before children) – which seems odd since we go through a lot more bread now.  I felt bad when I pulled it out of the cabinet and realized “it” has a name – Mister Loaf.  Mr. Loaf is too big to leave on the counter, but you’ll be happy to know that I promised him that we would be spending a lot more time together.

It took me longer to decide which recipe to use then it did to load the ingredients into Mr. Loaf. The next morning, we woke up to a loaf of bread. I only made a 1lb. loaf which was gone after breakfast. (4 kiddos & some crusty ends for me).  My children asked me to make Mexican French Toast, so I did. 🙂

So, if you’ve left your friend in the cabinet, buried in a closet, shoved into the back of your pantry – it’s time to get reaquainted. … and here’s a recipe to get you started. Of course, it’s a FRENCH recipe; I’ve mentioned how much I have been “into” French Baking lately!! – This is a dense bread and I would definitely eat it fresh AND of course, it makes AWESOME French Toast. Bon Apetit ~

[print_this]

Pan di Mie

  • 1 tsp active dry yeast
  • 2 cups bread flour
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbl vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 Tbl water

Add all ingredients in the order suggested by your bread machine manual and process on the bread cycle according to the manufacturer’s directions.

[/print_this]

 

Source: The Best Bread Machine Cookbook Ever : Ethnic Breads by Madge Rosenberg


One comment

  1. Hi! I have a mister loaf just waiting to be used in my cabinet, but I lost the manual! Would you happen to have the instructions for which order you put the ingredients? I would love to try your Mexican french toast recipe!

Join the Baking Party

