The EASIEST Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve made very good, and according to “other” bloggers, possibly The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever before, but unfortunately the recipe is both a bit time consuming & somewhat ingredient intensive; definitely not good for last minute or when the chocolate-chip-cooking-craving hits. Typically when I need to make chocolate  chip cookies I’m short on time and/or it’s late at night. So even though I agree that the other recipe is very good,I never quit searching for a recipe that I could make last minute, but didn’t “taste” last minute. Leave it to the Baking Illustrated crew to hit the mark!!

For many years I used the traditional Tollhouse cookie recipe, but aside from the fond memories while making the cookies*, they were certainly not my favorite cookie. However, this recipe has elevated my fondness for this classic cookie to somewhere near the top. Delicious, consistent results, and of course the perfect blend of crispy edges and chewy middles. Plus, the dough is not sticky and I really like the unique way the individual cookies are formed. You’ll have to read the recipe if you want to find out what I’m talking about 🙂

**Every time I make chocolate chip cookies I think of my friend Tina. I met Tina when we were in high school and when we were amidst boy/teenage drama, in need of general cheering up or just because – we’d make chocolate chip cookies at her house. My favorite part aside from eating the dough, was mixing all the ingredients together – lucky for me, Tina didn’t mind scooping the dough onto the sheets; I’ve never really enjoyed dropping sticky dough into balls onto a cookie sheet. One of the most vivid memories of those days gone by was that Tina’s mom Pam would put the baked cookies on sheets of brown bags while they cooled. Making chocolate chip cookies, still puts me in a good mood.

[print_this]

Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 2 cups plus 2 Tbl all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c unsalted butter (melted and COOLED completely)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg plus 1 egg yolk*
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I use a 12 oz bag)

Preheat oven to 325.

Whisk together the dry ingredients (flour, baking soda and salt and set aside)

Mix the sugars with the melted butter (the butter must be cooled completely or the dough will spread in the oven and you’ll end up with really flat pancake-like cookies) then stir in the egg, yolk and vanilla until combined. Stir in the flour mixture and add the chocolate chips. The dough should stick together, but not be sticky.

Form a ball with about a 1/2 cup of dough, pull apart in half, and place each half on a lined baking sheet with the jagged side up. Bake for about 11 (to 14) minutes until the edges are just starting to brown; the middles will still be soft.

Allow the cookies to rest on the baking sheets for 5 minutes until the cookies can be transferred to wire racks without breaking. Cool.

*The single egg yolk may not be substituted – the whole egg will add too much liquid/moisture; the yolk contains the fats, so it must be included.

[/print_this]

Recipe slightly adapted from Baking Illustrated

This post has been shared with The Frugal Girls Chic ‘n Craft Party

 

Join the Baking Party

