Berry Banana Smoothies

I’ve been drinking these smoothies practically every day for the past two months. Why? Besides the fact that they taste delicious, are quick & easy, my children like them and they are healthy… my husband and I have adjusted our eating habits to include 4 servings of vegetables, 2 servings of fruit, and at least 8 – 8 oz. cups of water a day. One “giant” serving of this smoothie has 2-3 servings of fruit, 1 serving of veggies and 8oz. of water — it’s an easy way for me to eat/drink all of that and I can take it in the car with me if I need too.

Looks pretty with the layers of fruit & veggies 🙂

I use frozen fruit that I either freeze myself when I come across a great deal or bags of  frozen strawberries and a frozen berry mix that I purchase at Costco (better price than my beloved Trader Joes). The frozen berries mix includes blueberries, raspberries and blackberries; plus berries are full of healthy antioxidants. Bananas freeze well, so it’s another great way to salvage those over-ripe bananas. (From experience, I suggest peeling the bananas before you freeze them. It will make your life a little less messy.) You will also need a blender. I have an Oster Blender that I bought at Costco for $30; it’s not fancy, but it gets the job done. So, don’t let your blender stop you from trying smoothies ~

I like to serve these to my children as part of their breakfast, as a before sport energy booster or for an after school snack. When I have spinach, I sneak it in as and added serving of veggies, I’m a tricky mom like that. My kids aren’t brave enough for a green monster smoothie…. yet!!

[print_this]

Berry Banana Smoothie (Serves 2-3)

  • 1 Banana (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 cup frozen Strawberries (about 6)
  • 1 cup frozen Berries
  • 1 cup water (depends on how you measure the Strawberries & the size of your Banana)

Optional Ingredients:

  • 1 large handful of spinach leaves
  • a dash of Stevia powder (a natural sweetner that I use to counter-act the tartness of the berries) or sweetner/sugar of choice. (raw honey, maple syrup etc…
  • flax seeds

Break the banana into 2-4 chunks and add to the blender. Add the Strawberries, Berries, and 1/2 cup of the water. (I add the spinach & stevia at this point, too – but you can also mix it in after the fruit.) Blend until smooth & creamy, adding more water as needed. I typically have to stop my blender & mix it with a spoon once or twice.

[/print_this]

This post shared with:

The Frugal Girls

2 comments

  1. Hey, it’s Angie from Desperate Houselife visiting! I am a new follower! I wanted to ask… I have tried stevia and found it to be bitter. Does the mixture of the berries make it a little less so? I am trying to give agave a chance as well!

    • Yes, the stevia does have a bitter taste (which is why a little goes a long, long way). Some people say that the Sweet Leaf Brand is less bitter, but I have not read about it being compared to the Trader Joes Brand that I purchased. Another option is liquid stevia, there are flavored versions including vanilla* version which I assume knocks out the bitterness also made by Sweet Leaf. (I will be posting about Stevia in the near future). You are correct (or at least according to my taste buds) the tartness of the berries seems to balance the bitterness of the stevia. I use just a touch of the Stevia, there is definitely a fine line. *I may try adding a touch of vanilla extract to see what happens.

      Raw honey is an option, too – and – an added health benefit. But, as you know, honey will add it’s own flavor. – Another option is 100% Maple Syrup. (I think I should also write a post about sweeteners as I’ve recently learned a lot.)

      If you haven’t done so already, I would suggest researching agave – I’ve read quite a bit about the “questionable” processing process etc… – however, I am by no means an expert on it.

      Thanks for stopping by and I appreciate your taking the time to comment. 🙂

Join the Baking Party

