Applesauce

applesauce

Applesauce is really easy to make and you can probably find the recipe anywhere. It’s basically cut up, cooked apples with/without sweetner & flavorings/spices.

While updating the Breakfast Ideas post, I noticed that one of the “ideas” is applesauce. I wanted to link it to the recipe. Using the search feature, I discovered there wasn’t one (or at least there wasn’t one anymore). Thankfully, I still have my Baking 4 Six Facebook page and found this Applesauce recipe that I shared on the Facebook page 5 years ago on September 6, 2012. Where did the time go?

Thank goodness I remebered taking the above photo since it led me to the recipe. It also gave me the idea of a new feature I’m going to include in my posts. I’ll be adding a supply section that explains where I purchased or obtained certain items shown in the pictures. Look for that toward the bottom of the posts under the recipe.**

Apple Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 6lbs. apples (I used fuji, gala and a few granny smith because that what I had and they were going bad)
  • dash of salt
  • 3 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • sweetner (optional: sugar, stevia, 100% maple syrup) I used 6TBL turbinado sugar

Directions:

Peel, Core & cut apples into 8 pieces
Put in pot with the rest of the ingredients
Simmer for 25+ minutes in a dutch oven until the apples are soft (mine took a little longer, because I used firmer apples).
Next turn off the burner & let the apples sit covered until it cooled… Once cooled, remove the cinnamon sticks and use a food processor to purée the apples. Delicious!!

Next time, I’m going to puree the apples with the cinnamon sticks using the Vitamix and see what happens. My guess is cinnamon applesauce – tasty.

**Supplies: (pictured above)

  • Bowl – Tastefully Simple
  • Placemat – Dollar Store
  • Cinnamon Sticks – grocery store. Top shelf of the “mexican” food section. I’ve also seen them at the Dollar Store (90% cheaper than the spice aisle)
Join the Baking Party

